Common Family Law Questions

What Are Grounds for Divorce in the State of Texas?

The law in Texas recognizes seven grounds for divorce:

  • Cruelty
  • Insupportability
  • Living apart
  • Confinement in a mental hospital
  • Abandonment
  • Adultery
  • Conviction of a felony

How Long Does the Divorce Process Take?

This defends on the particulars of your case. There is a minimum of 60 days required in the state of Texas, by way of a mandatory waiting period. Your case could take considerably longer, depending on various aspects of your divorce. Consult with an attorney to learn more about what to expect.

What Will My Divorce Cost?

This is another matter that varies and should be discussed with your attorneys. If you and your spouse are having difficulties agreeing to the terms of your divorce—matters such as property division, alimony, child custody, and child support—your case could be considerably longer and more expensive. The Sugar Land divorce attorney at the Audu Law Firm offers free initial consultations, so get started today.

How Will My Marital Property Be Divided?

Texas is a community property state. This means that marital property—property obtained in the marriage—is divided equitably in divorce. Debts are also divided.

What Is the Difference Between Divorce and Legal Separation?

Texas does not recognize legal separation as a legal and recognized status the way other states do.

Am I Entitled to Alimony?

Alimony—or spousal maintenance—may be granted in your case. You must have been married for at least 10 years and prove that you are unable to support yourself financially, among other conditions.

START YOUR FREE INITIAL CONSULTATION TODAY